Awards And Agreements Library

Sharr was made a Fellow of the Library Board in 1984 as a reminder of his invaluable work in the development of the State Library of Western Australia and the National Public Library Service. Pat also oversaw the expansion of the library, built his collection for local studies, and launched the Randolph Stow Young Writers Award. Pat has worked on numerous regional arts promotion committees, including the Geraldton Arts Council and as a board member of Country Arts WA. In 1987, Pat founded the regional chapter of the Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA). After leaving the library, Pat was elected to Geraldton City Council from 2001 to 2003. A class teacher and school librarian, Chris Priest entered the library`s public service in 1980 as a children`s librarian at the Bassendean Public Library. As a retired farmer and investor, Norman King represented the Country Shire Councils Association of Western Australia from 1977 to 1989 as a candidate for the Library Board of Western Australia. Norman was a member of Wickepin Shire Council for many years and was awarded for Wickepin Shire in 1980 as Citizen of the Year. He was also a Justice of the Peace and won the Queen`s Jubilee Silver Medal in 1977.

As a result, Norman had a keen sense of the needs of the country`s people and was pleased to be a service member of the Library Committee at a time when the last of the state`s 138 local government agencies were included in the public library system as participating institutions. Elevated to the rank of Fellow of the Library Board in 2014, Kerry Smith is a prominent advocate for libraries and the library profession. . . .

Comments are closed.